top of page
  • Writer's pictureA-Z FFB

Dynasty Superflex Startup: Draft Results

Updated: Dec 3, 2020

I just finished up my very first dynasty superflex startup draft!! Alex & I were both fortunate enough to be a part of this league, so I'm sure there will be more content about these teams in the future. For those who aren’t familiar with superflex leagues, here is a little info on what a superflex is... Unlike a normal flex position (RB/WR/TE), you can play any skill player in a superflex slot including another QB. These aren’t exactly the same as 2 QB leagues, but more often than not managers will start a QB in their superflex spot because they score the most points. Superflex leagues place a premium on QBs since you are able to start two of them every week. If you get two top end QBs, you could put up 50+ points between two of your starting players. The ‘late round QB’ strategy is a lot riskier in superflex leagues, but some still choose to take that approach if the top end QBs are taken early. They will just wait for the best available QB to come to them. Okay, not that you are hip with the lingo, let's check out my draft!


My Draft:

This is a 10 team league, the starting lineups are comprised of the following:

1 QB, 2 RB, 2 WR, 1 TE, 3 FLEX (RB/WR/TE), 1 SUPERFLEX (RB/WR/TE/QB). The bench is 24 players deep, bringing us to a 34 round draft. I picked from the 1.01 spot! I will lay out my starting lineup along with the draft position of each player in my starting lineup. I will attach a link to the entire draft board for you as well!



The Starters:

Here is the lineup (with the round/position of each pick) I will likely roll out for week 1 of the 2020 season:

QB: Patrick Mahomes - 1.01

RB: Jonathan Taylor - 3.01

RB: Philip Lindsay - 10.10

WR: Chris Godwin - 2.10

WR: Cooper Kupp - 6.10

TE: Mark Andrews - 5.01

FLEX: Deebo Samuel - 7.01

FLEX: Marquise Brown - 9.01

FLEX: Dionte Johnson - 11.01

SUPERFLEX: Matt Stafford - 8.10



Overall, I am happy to roll this starting lineup out. Patrick Mahomes is widely regarded as the 1.01 is superflex leagues. He is just 24 years old and is surrounded by elite weapons, adding another one in Clyde Edwards-Helaire this off season. Mahomes's career is still so young, yet he has already won a Super Bowl, where he was named the Super Bowl MVP, and has been the league MVP (coming off of a 50 TD season his first year as the Chiefs starting QB). He was an easy pick for me at 1.01.


I was stoked that Chris Godwin fell to me at 2.10. Personally, Chris Godwin is a top 3 WR in dynasty formats. This might be a hot take to many, but Micheal Thomas is the only player I would say is definitively ahead of Godwin and even then I still think there is at least a conversation to be had. Players like Davante Adams, DeAndre Hopkins and Tyreek Hill are widely regarded as better dynasty assets, but I think Chris Godwin needs to be in this conversation as well because he is younger than all of them (24 yrs. old). He is one of the most complete WRs in the game right now who can win at any level. Now he will be catching passes from HOF QB Tom Brady. Brady will love Godwin’s reliability, especially in the short/intermediate areas of the field.


My team is pretty thin at RB as far as work horse players go. I took Jonathan Taylor in the 3rd round because I knew he would not get back to me. The RBs taken in the 3rd and 4th round (coming back on the snake) are all very talented players (check the draft board, link above). Miles Sanders is a guy that jumps out, taken at 4.04. But of the RBs taken in these 20 picks, to me Jonathan Taylor the best path to work horse roll. Fun fact, he will also play behind one of the best offensive lines in the NFL. Taylor has been comped to Ezekiel Elliot, and he lives up to that in not only his play, but also his durability. Taylor saw a lot of work in college, yet never sustained a major injury. He was always available for his team. Some see the large college workload as a negative, but there are some players that are just built different. I think J-Tay is one of those players.



You may notice that my 4th round pick is not currently in my starting lineup. I took my favorite rookie WR in CeeDee Lamb at 4.10. Lamb was my 2nd WR drafted behind Chris Godwin. DJ Moore was my target to get back to me, but he was taken at 4.07, so I took the leap for Lamb. I think Lamb’s comps to Deondre Hopkins are well deserved. I am not as scared of his landing spot as most seem to be. The Cowboys will quickly realize they have a very special player in Lamb and the opportunities will follow. Following my “reach” on Lamb, I was very happy to get a locked in starter, Lamb’s former teammate, Marquise Brown at pick 9.01. This is insane value for Brown in my opinion. He is a home run threat and the WR1 for one of the most exciting offenses in all of football. Cooper Kupp, Marquise Brown, Deebo Samual and Diontae Johnson (one of my favorite targets EVERYWHERE this year) will afford me some flexibility with my 4th round selection of CeeDee Lamb. While he was my 2nd WR selected, he does not have to be a centerpiece of my starting lineup, but he certainly possesses the upside to be just that.

Back to Diontae Johnson really quick… I REALLY like this player. Johnson should be on your radar this year in all formats. What Johnson was able to do last year with AWFUL QB play is a tribute to how special this player can be. I do not think Chase Claypool poses a threat to Johnson’s targets. James Washington is the loser of the Claypool draft pick. Johnson is getting Big Ben back, and projects to be the WR2 for the Steelers… The Steelers WR2s have proven to be an excellent fantasy commodity, I expect that to continue with Johnson.


Mark Andrews was a pick I didn’t exactly want to make this soon, but I am happy to have Andrews on my roster. I saw the top two TE’s taken in the 4th round and knew that Andrews wold not have made it back around to me at 6.10. At 24 years old, Andrews has a long career ahead of him. The Ravens moving on from TE Hayden Hurst opens the door for Andrews to take on significantly more work in 2020. Andrews is already one of Lamar Jackson’s favorite targets, so this bodes well for Andrews's future.


I was not quite sure when to pull the trigger on my 2nd QB, but given the QBs that were taken between 1.01 and 8.10, I knew that I needed a reliable starting QB who I can rely on. Matt Stafford was on pace for a historic season last year before an injury ended his season in week 9 vs. the Raiders. Getting Stafford in the 8th round felt great to me, especially because a few rounds later I was able to take Drew Lock, a player who may have been the biggest individual winner from the 2020 NFL Draft. The Broncos drafted a slew of new weapons for the 23 year old, 2nd year QB Drew Lock. If Drew Lock proves he is the real deal, he may end up being my best pick in this draft from a pure value perspective, but Stafford provides a safe, reliable weekly starter for me while we wait and see how the Drew Lock experiment plays out.


Now let's take a look at some of my favorite players on my bench.


The Bench warmers:

This was a 34 round draft, I am not going to talk about every player. If you want to see the entire draft board, here is the link again: https://sleeper.app/draft/nfl/559546949229248512


For this segment, I wanted to highlight a few of my favorite picks from the middle and late rounds.


Value WRs:

Preston Williams - 14.10: The 2nd year wide-out was a huge winner from the 2020 NFL Draft. The Dolphins were absolutely loaded with draft picks, but they did not make a move on any WRs. This tells me they are confident with what they have in for former UDFA, Preston Williams. Williams was injured in week 9 of the 2019 season, but prior to exiting the game Williams was going off against the Jets. Williams is locked in as the WR2 for the Dolphins, but has the talent and potential to make this a 1a./1b. situation with Devonte Parker.


Russell Gage - 28.10: Gage was BURIED on the list of available players, and I don’t know why. When Mohamed Sanu Jr. was traded to the Patriots, Gage immediately filled the slot role and proved himself as a reliable target for QB Matt Ryan. From week 8 on, Gage had 7 games with 5 or more targets, including two games with 10 or more targets. Gage is not a world beater, but he still has value to this offense. Gage was also a winner from the draft because the team did not attempt to replace him. Gage should be on the field which is more than many of the other players taken in the 28th round.

Equanimeous St. Brown - 29.01: Along with having one of the coolest names in the NFL, Equanimeous St. Brown may have been one of the biggest steals of this draft. My Green Bay Packers left us all scratching our heads when they did not select a single WR in the 2020 NFL Draft. Allen Lazard was one of the coolest stories of the 2019 season, but Lazard was activated from the practice squad only after EQ was placed on the IR, ending his 2019 season. St. Brown is just 23 years old, and at times during his rookie year he showed tremendous promise as a legitimate option for QB Aaron Rodgers. St. Brown is 6’5”, 215 lbs. and possesses 4.4 speed. The Packers like the WRs on their roster enough to pass on this highly touted rookie class. Equanimeous St. Brown is the forgotten man in a wide open competition for the WR2 role in GB. He possesses all of the physical traits to excel in the NFL. If I somehow scooped the Packers WR2 in the 29th round, OMG. If EQ does not pan out, who cares? He was a luxury pick with massive upside.


Value RBs:

AJ Dillon - 12.10: The Packers selected Dillon in the 2nd round of the 2020 NFL Draft. Again, a puzzling selection, but as I looked deeper into the pick I actually grew to like it. Aaron Jones is an extremely talented back, but has a smaller frame. Jamaal Williams is basically Aaron Jones lite… They both do similar things, neither possess great power. The Packers drafted Dillon to give the backfield all the power they could have asked for. Dillon’s combine testing was off the charts, garnering comparisons to Derrick Henry (who Matt Lefleur coached in TEN). Personally, I do not think Dillon will be the next Derrick Henry, but the comps make sense. Dillon has a skillset that the Packers have not had in a RB since Eddie Lacy, their last 1,000 yard rusher before Aaron Jones eclipsed 1,000 in 2019. Dillon profiles as an immediate goal line threat given his size and athleticism. If he can prove to be a halfway decent receiving option, Dillon could be a weekly starter sooner than later if he proves to be a red zone threat.


DeeJay Dallas - 18.01: Dallas was a bit of a reach, but as thin as I am at RB it had to be done. Dallas was a player that I sought out because if there is any team in the NFL that kicks draft capital to the curb, it is the Seattle Seahawks. Chris Carson was a 7th round pick, he has been the team’s starting RB for the past 3 seasons. They simply play the best player, and that has been Carson. Rashad Penny has been ‘meh’ when he is available, and one of his biggest issues is he is rarely available. Carson also comes with his own injury concerns. Dallas is just the kind of tough runner that Pete Carroll will love. I never hope for a player to get injured, but history doesn’t lie. Dallas will start out as the RB3 behind two players who have not played a full season in their NFL careers.


Ryquell Armstead - 20.10: The Jacksonville Jaguars have been actively trying to trade RB Leonard Fournette. The team just recently declined Fournette’s 5th year option. All signs point to Fournette being gone sooner than later. I took a flier on Armstead because IF Fournette is traded before the season starts, Armstead is the next man up. A potential starting RB for a NFL team this late in the draft was too good to pass up, and lord knows I need the help at RB.


QB Values:

Jameis Winston - 21.01: I wrote a separate article explaining why I love Jameis Winston to the Saints (Check it out here: https://atozffb.wixsite.com/home/post/jameis-winston-to-the-saints-here-is-why-it-matters).

Winston has been a stud for fantasy purposes his entire career. He is showing a lot of humility by signing a 1.1 million dollar deal to learn behind future HOFer Drew Brees for a year. If Winston proves himself capable, he will find himself as the future starting QB of the Saints, one of the offenses that revolutionized the modern day NFL. In a superflex league, I love this value for Winston.


Cole McDonald - 33.01: This past year I went on a family vacation to Hawaii. In Hawaii, they really like their Hawaii Rainbow Warriors. Their games are on, like all the time. I got to watch Cole McDonald put on an absolute show in the Hawaii Bowl vs. BYU. McDonald threw for 493 yards and 4 TDs with no interceptions, capping off a great comeback in a highly competitive game. I dug deeper into McDonald in the offseason and he became a really interesting prospect to me. In 2019 he threw for 4,135 yards, completing 63% of his passes. McDonald also showed great versatility by rushing the ball 101 times for 383 yards. I like this pick because the Titans have no depth behind Ryan Tannehill. If something were to happen to Tannehill (again, not hoping for this), McDonald should find himself as the team’s starting QB. McDonald is a bit of a project, but I personally love his skill set.


Wrap-up:

Running back is a clear point of weakness for my team. There were a number of RBs I had my eye on, but they were taken in the middle of the round(s). Picking on the turn presents some challenges, usually causing you to have to reach for "your guy" because there are so many picks before you are on the clock again. I am also thin at QB. I should have prioritized this position more for depth. I am very confident in my starters, but I am putting a lot of faith in Drew Lock. Winston will not be of great value this year, and McDonald is a long shot to have any impact at all (I just like the player and his situation as the immediate backup). If my starting QBs get hurt, I will be in trouble... If my starting QBs stay healthy all year, I have two of the best passers in the NFL right now.


Overall, I think this is a top-3 contending team right away, assuming everyone stays healthy... I have a lot of youth woven into each position to make this team a problem for the foreseeable future. My QB and RB situation could be better, but I should have enough value at WR to make some trades, should that be necessary. Let me know what you think of my team by connecting with us on Twitter & Instagram (NEW!!) @AtoZffb.



THANKS FOR READING!!!



-Zack Housholder













322 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page